A short break from the office

I spent most of today catching on office work but I did venture out to check the ponies grazing the shore of Ibsley Water. On the way I was disappointed to see some one had removed some sulphur polypore fungi from the Nature reserve, I’d just like to remind visitors not to remove fungi or any other wildlife from the reserve.

Sulphur polypore fungus

Sulphur polypore fungus with bits cut off

On the way to the ponies I was please to see a female adder in an area I had not previously encountered them before, I managed one blurry photo before she disappeared into the vegetation. 

 

P1070195

Female Adder

On the approach to Lapwing hide I encountered long-winged coneheads in abundance in the grassland  and a migrant hawker dragonfly that stayed put for a photograph. The ponies were all fine and accounted for so I unfortunately had to return to the office.

Migrant hawker

Migrant hawker

P1070200

Long winged conehead

Leave a Reply

