A Chick Against the Odds and One Lost

The big news today was that as I scanned up Ibsley Water first thing this morning I saw a large redshank chick on the shore, they do not breed successfully very often so this was a great sight in a year that has been very difficult for waders. It was close to where the oystercatcher pair had their large youngster. I also noticed that there was still one of the adult oystercatchers nearby and it really went for a jackdaw that landed on the bank. Possibly the oystercatchers have still not come to terms with the loss of their chick and are still defending the area, if they continue it cannot but be good for the redshank chick.

Parking beside the Centre I noticed that there seem to be even more scorpionflies than before on the nettles beside the car park, they are always quite common but do seem exceptionally so this year.

scorpionfly, male

At the Ivy North hide there were once again 2 grey squirrels on the tree to the right of the hide, mostly just grooming themselves in the morning sunshine.

grey squirrels

I had a day of doing lots of small tasks and so was left with the vague feeling of not having got anything of any substance done, such is the way I suppose. At least the weather was good by recent standards, it even felt warm in the sunshine at lunchtime and the warmth brought out some insects and I got another picture of the large hoverfly Volucella pellucens.

Volucella pellucens

I was briefly in the wet woodland just beside the Dockens Water in the afternoon where I came across what I think is yet another type of slime mold, although I am not certain as it is one I have never seen before, but that seems the most likely life form for it to be to my eyes. I will have to do a web search and see what I can find, unless of course someone reading this knows what it is. The picture is not great as it was in very deep shade and each was no more than about 7mm across at most.

slime mold, maybe

The common terns are still doing well although I see from the Ivy South logbook that one was taken by a large gull yesterday, although seems it dropped it under attack from the adult terns, unfortunately it was too small to fly and so got wet and drowned. The larger chicks often get lifted off the rafts when wing flapping but they are usually fine on our refuge rafts and usually fly well enough within a day to get back home. It is a perilous life as a small bird.

Stop press: It looks as though it is a slime mold and probably Lycogala epidendrum known as wolf’s milk slime mold.

2 thoughts on “A Chick Against the Odds and One Lost

  1. Thanks, terrestre and epidendrum seem to be more or less impossible to tell apart at this stage, although the spores are a different colour apparently, so I will have to check in a day or two.

Leave a Reply

